In order to appear in CAT you should check following CAT Eligibility Criteria 2016 and Reservation Policy:

You  must hold a Bachelor’s Degree or equivalent qualification, with minimum 50% [45% in case of SC, ST and Persons With Disability (PWD) categories], marks or equivalent CGPA awarded by any University or educational institution.

As per CAT 2016 ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA, the percentage of marks obtained by you would be calculated based on the practice as followed by the respective University/Institution. In case of grades / CGPA, the conversion to percentage of marks would be based on the procedure as certified by the respective University/ institution. If there is no scheme for converting CGPA into equivalent marks, the equivalence would be established by dividing the candidate’s CGPA by the maximum possible CGPA, and multiplying the result with 100.

You are eligible to take CAT Exam if you are  appearing for the final year of Bachelor’s degree/equivalent qualification examination. Similarly  those who have completed degree requirements and are awaiting results can also apply. However, it may be noted that such candidates, if selected, will be allowed to join the programme provisionally, only if they submit a certificate from the Principal / Registrar of their University/institution stating that they have completed all the requirements for obtaining the Bachelor’s degree/equivalent qualification on the date of the issue of the certificate. This certificate must be issued on or before the date as stipulated by the respective IIM.

IIMs may verify eligibility at various stages of the selection process, the details of which are provided at the website in. You may not be short listed by IIMs on the mere fulfillment of minimum eligibility criteria.

CAT 2016 Reservations

15% of the seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) and

7.5% for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates.

27% of seats are reserved for Other Backward Classes “non-creamy” layer (NC-OBC).

If you want to be considered for reservations, visit the website for the applicable Central Government list as on the last date of CAT registration. Any change afterwards will not be considered.

3% seats are reserved for Persons With Disability (PWD) candidates. The three categories of disability are: a) low vision blindness, b) hearing impairment and c) loco motor disability/cerebral palsy. This provision is applicable if the candidate suffers from any of the listed disabilities to the extent of not less than 40%, as certified by a medical authority as prescribed and explained in the said Act.

Candidates belonging to the reserved categories have to meet the minimum eligibility criteria and a certain minimum level of performance to be considered for the admission process.

Candidates should read the updated description of selection process followed by each IIM on their respective websites.

There will be no change in the category  after CAT registration.


Note that your caste / tribe must be listed in the Government of India schedule. The caste certificate that you submit should be in the Government approved format.

You are required to upload a copy of the SC / ST / NC-OBC / PWD certificate(s)  at the time of CAT Application registration. Failure to upload a copy of the caste/class certificate will result in the rejection of your CAT registration.

You are required to show original SC / ST / NC-OBC / PWD certificate(s) and a photocopy should be submitted at the time of interviews. You are required to submit the certificate(s) at the time of joining the programmes of any of the IIMs. Failure to do so during the post CAT selection process will result in you not being considered under the reserved category.

Get complete details of CAT 2016.



(Visited 7 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment